Supervisory Committee


The ESOF Supervisory Committee as established by the EuroScience Governing Board, comprises five members from EuroScience and five members from stakeholders in Europe's science and innovation endeavour. Initially five Foundations (Compagnia di Sao Paolo, Fondazione Cariplo, Riksbankens Jubileumsfond, Robert Bosch Stiftung and Stifterverband für die Deutsche Wissenschaft) supporting EuroScience's ESOF team in Strasbourg were represented on the ESOF Supervisory Committee.

Among its responsibilities, the ESOF Supervisory Committee is in charge of:

    • safeguarding ESOF’s mission as a platform for European science;
    • appointing the International Steering Committee for each ESOF conference, who, in turn, nominate the ESOF Programme Committees and the Media and Marketing Committee
    • acting as the selection board for the ESOF host cities on the basis of proposals
    • developing strategic guidelines

The Committee is composed of five members from the EuroScience Governing Board and one representative from five members from stakeholders in Europe's science and innovation endeavour.

EuroScience members

Members of the ESOF Supervisory Committee representing EuroScience comprise:

Gail Cardew

Chair of the ESOF Supervisory Board
Director of Science and Education at The Royal Institution, United Kingdom

Lauritz Holm-Nielsen

President of EuroScience,
Director, Sino Danish College, Beijing

Carl Johan Sundberg

Department of Physiology and Pharmacology
Karolinska Institutet - Sweden

Alexander Gerber

Professor of Science Communication Rhine Waal University,
German Research Centre for Science & Innovation Communication, Germany

Jean-Pierre Alix

Former Advisor at CNRS
Science Policy, France

Members from stakeholders in Europe's science and innovation endeavour

Members of the ESOF Supervisory Committee representing stakeholders in Europe's science and innovation endeavour are:

Carlos Härtel

CTO & Chief Innovation Officer at GE Global Research, Germany & Austria
President at EIRMA

Pavel Exner

President European Mathematical Society
Scientific Director at Doppler Institute for Mathematical Physics and Applied Mathematics in Prague, Czech Republic

Rolf Tarrach

European University Association, Belgium

Dame Anne Glover

Vice-Principal External Affairs & and Dean for Europe at University of Aberdeen, Scotland
Former Chief Science Adviser to the president of the European Commission

Ingrid Wünning Tschol

Senior Vice-President for Health and Science
Robert Bosch Stiftung Foundation, Germany